You can now share replays of Instagram Stories live videos for 24 hours

Instagram users have been able to post live videos on their accounts since November. Today, the social network is rolling out a new update that will allow users to share replays of their live videos with others for up to 24 hours.

The update adds a “Share” selection at the bottom of the screen after your live video has ended, so you can add the replay to Instagram Stories for 24 hours. Alternatively, you can delete the live video by tapping the toggle, and then choosing “Discard”. When you watch your own video replay back, you will see the number of users who watched it live, and afterwards via replay.

If you have an Instagram friend who has shared a replay of their live video, you will see a play button under their profile photo in the Stories bar. You can tap that to watch the replay, and you will also see any comments and likes that were included as part of the original live video. Tapping the screen to the right of the replay will cause the video to go forward 15 seconds, while tapping on the left will cause it to go back by the same amount of time. If your friend has shared more than one video replay, you can jump between those clips by tapping on the arrows at the top.

By the way, Instagram revealed today that it now 250 million daily active users for its Stories feature, less than a year after it was officially added in August 2016.

This latest update is part of the new Instagram version 10.26 that’s being rolled out to Android users on the Google Play Store.

Recent updates

Instagram adds Archive feature

June 13, 2017: Instagram has rolled out its new Archive addition worldwide. It’s been designed to help users keep any posts they have shared in a space that’s only meant to be seen by that person. If you want to start archiving your shared posts, all you have to do is tap “…” at the top of the post you want to save and then and choose “Archive.” Users will be able to see that saved post when they tap on the Archive icon, which is located in the top right corner of the Instagram profile. You will also be able to see any previous likes and comments on that post.

Instagram Direct adds support for links, along with landscape and portrait orentation

May 25, 2017: The Instagram Direct feature now allows users to share images in both landscape and portrait orientation along with the ability to share links.

Instagram Stories can now be searched by location, hashtag search coming soon

May 23, 2017: Instagram is adding yet another way to search for content on the social network. The latest update to the app allows users to search inside Instagram Stories via location, and soon will also add searching in Stories via hashtags.

Face filters

May 17, 2017: Instagram has added another Snapchat-like feature, as users can now put in a number of animated images over their photos and videos. In addition, users can now put videos in reverse. There’s also a new eraser brush in the drawing tools.

Web uploads

May 8, 2017: Instagram has beefed up its mobile website with the ability to upload photos, and a lightweight version of the Explore tab. Previously, users were only able to like posts, follow users, search, and see notifications from the mobile site. Now users can not only upload media to the social network, they can also access a stripped down version of the Explore tab.

Instagram says the web experience is optimized for phones, and designed to help users on slower data connections access the social network. Think of this as a “lite” version of Instagram. Video uploading via the mobile web still isn’t supported, however, nor is posting photos or videos from the desktop site.

Offline mode coming soon

April 19: Instagram announced that it is launching an offline mode to help improve the experience for those with limited internet access. Offline users will be able to “Like” posts, leave comments, save media and unfollow people, all of which will be processed once the user reconnects to the internet. They will also be able to view content previously loaded in their Instagram feed, profiles they’ve previously visited, older versions of their own profile and the Explore tab.

Next:

How to delete your Instagram account

3 weeks ago

Source: techspot

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *